What Is the Statute of Limitations for Car Accident Lawsuits in Texas?

the Statute of Limitations for Car Accident Lawsuits in Texas
A car accident can be an incredibly traumatic event that may result in multiple types of severe injuries for a driver, the passengers in a vehicle, and anyone else who is involved. Victims may need extensive medical treatment, requiring multiple months to fully recover.

They may even experience permanent disabilities that will affect them for the rest of their lives. These issues can also lead to significant financial difficulties if a person’s injuries affect their ability to work, and victims may struggle to address the costs of medical treatment or repairs to their vehicle.

Fortunately, victims may be able to pursue compensation from a negligent driver or another party who was responsible for a car wreck. However, they will want to be sure to understand the time limits that will apply when filing a personal injury lawsuit.

Understanding the Statute of Limitations in Texas Personal Injury Cases

State laws apply time limits for when legal cases must be filed. This ensures that civil lawsuits and criminal prosecutions are pursued in a timely fashion while avoiding issues related to the preservation of evidence over a long period of time.

It can also help protect against unfair and unjust results. To ensure that a plaintiff can bring a valid claim against a defendant, they will need to file a civil lawsuit within the applicable statute of limitations.

Under the Texas Civil Practice and Remedies Code, the statute of limitations for most personal injury cases, including car accidents, is two years. This means that a lawsuit must be filed within two years of the date an accident took place.

If a car accident resulted in wrongful death, the victim’s survivors must file a lawsuit within two years after the date on which the person died. A personal injury or wrongful death lawsuit may seek to recover compensation for multiple types of damages, including medical expenses, loss of past and future income, and pain and suffering.

If a victim will be pursuing a lawsuit against a government agency, the statute of limitations is much shorter. The Texas Tort Claims Act states that a governmental unit is entitled to receive notice of a personal injury claim within six months after the date on which an accident occurred.

A local or state government may be held liable for injuries caused by a government employee who was operating a motor vehicle or other equipment while acting within the scope of their employment.

In these cases, the amount of liability for a state government agency or local municipality will be limited to $250,000 per person and $500,000 per accident for bodily injuries or wrongful deaths, as well as $100,000 for damage or destruction of property.

For other local government units or emergency service organizations, liability is limited to $100,000 per person and $300,000 per accident for bodily injuries or wrongful deaths, and $100,000 for property damage. 

Contact Hartley Law Firm

If you have been injured in a car accident, Hartley Law Firm can help you take the proper steps to pursue compensation for your damages.

We will fight to make sure you will be repaid for medical expenses and the costs of repairing or replacing your vehicle, while also addressing the ongoing financial issues related to your injuries. To set up a free consultation, contact our Carrollton, TX car accident attorney

Go Back